Eleventh Annual Golf Tournament – A Swinging Success!

 In Sports

History was created when eleven years ago, on January 12, 2008, 17 Rotarians teed off at the United Services Club for the First Annual Golf Tournament of the Rotary Club of Bombay initiated by Moy Biswas. Since then this tournament has been held every year and its ever-growing appeal has led to a roaster of no less than 32 competitors.

On January 6, 2018, the Eleventh Annual Golf Tournament for the Trophy instituted by the Biswas family in 2008 was held once again at the Willingdon Sports Club.

President Ramesh Narayan officially began the tournament with a ceremonial tee-off at 8.15 am. Then the serious business started, pitting participants of ages ranging from 20 to 75 years, who played in the following groups:


Pradeep Chinai, Anand Shah, Sushil Jalan and Dinesh Lal; Madhup Vaghani, Kush Shah, Rishi Dalal and Mihir Doshi; Mohit Jain, Bhavya Jain, Darious Irani, and Sanjay Desai; Subrata Mitra, Pashupati Advani, Abhay Jyotishi, and Rohini Chowgule; Dev Thukral, Arvind Jolly, Anil Goyel, and Ashok Advani; Brinda Shah, Padma Lal, and Bharti Purkar; Bimal Mehta, Dilip Dalal, Aziz Javeri and Vitek Goyel; Satyan Israni, Ali Merchant, Suresh Goklaney and Moy Biswas

While the camaraderie among players was excellent, their competitive spirit was high, with all the golfers playing to the best of their abilities. The eagles, birdies and pars (as well as some unwanted bogeys) kept coming. Fortunately, the weather was excellent, with a cool winter morning to lighten the golfers’ exertion.

Although the game was highly competitive, it was played in a spirit of friendliness which was facilitated by the meticulous planning and faultless execution of the indefatigable Moy Biswas. Exciting and electrifying as the tournament was, the fellowship that followed was equally engaging and exhilarating, what with the presence of several stalwart Rotarians and family members.

While Past President Arvind Jolly was out on the greens awaiting the outcome of the tournament, at the Cabbage Patch were PPs Rahim Muljiani, Rumi Jehangir, Sandip Agarwalla, and Nowroze Vazifdar.

After a group photograph with a very large number of Rotarians and family members present for this event, the presentation ceremony began with Moy with his usual sense of humour. He thanked Pradeep Chinai for facilitating the arrangements at the WSC as well as hosting the breakfast for the participants. He also thanked Mohit Jain of Jain family, Gautam Agarwal of Agarwal family, Bimal Mehta and Fali Mehta for their generous contributions.

On behalf of the Sports Committee, Moy then presented a special present to President Ramesh Narayan for his constant motivation and encouragement.

Ramesh Narayan then came on stage and complimented Moy who was single-handedly responsible for introducing and nurturing this event and converting it into a flagship sports event of the year. He also thanked Madhup Vaghani for hosting this year’s fellowship.

Moy was overwhelmed by Madhup Vaghani’s generous contributions and sparing no efforts for making the fellowship most enjoyable. He also mentioned that Madhup has sponsored this fellowship earlier and this is his third time.

In appreciation for the nonparticipating ladies who have been present year after year for motivating and encouraging the participants, a lucky draw was organised and PP Rahim Muljiani eventually declared Rohini Chowgule as the “Lucky Lady”. The longest drive in hole no 01was awarded to Rishi Dalal and nearest to the pin in hole no 08 was awarded to Mohit Jain.

The runner-up prize was presented to Anand Shah.

Finally, it was time to declare the winner and Rohini Chowgule was crowned the winner of the Eleventh Rotary Club of Bombay Annual Golf Tournament. This is the third time Rohini has bagged this trophy. Loud applause greeted the announcement and all those present congratulated the champion as President Ramesh and Moy presented the winner’s trophy.

2 Anil Goyel wins the second annual golf tournament : SECOND ANNUAL GOLF TOURNEY
4 Dev Thukral wins golf tournament – but Fellows wins the day !
6 Rohini bags trophy, but Fellowship triumphs at the golf tournament
7 Seventh annual golf tournament a roaring Success
8 Fellowship triumphs at the Golf Tournament
9 9th Annual Golf Tournament & Fellowship: A Swinging Success!
10 Fellowship triumphs at the Tenth Annual Golf Tournament

Recent Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search